Picture
I've loved it for as long as I can remember.  I've drunk it in an official capacity since my reluctant Mom finally said yes.  Before that, I surreptitiously sneaked cups of it from her omnipresent brew.  There are few physical sensations I relish more than sticking my nose into a freshly opened bag of heady, dark roast Starbucks beans. 

I very reluctantly weaned myself off it for each of my pregnancies, which for this and countless other reasons seemed to last eons.  About once each year I gradually change my caffinated/decaffinated ratio so that I'm 'off the stuff' just to see that I can.  I hate the idea that I'm held captive to a substance and so I do my little experiment every now and then to prove my supposed dominance over coffee. 

It's one of those things that brings me a disproportionate amount of pleasure.  What's yours?


1/25/2011 03:36:22 am

I thought I was the only one who did the weaning off coffee thing. Of course, I always go back but for some reason I need to prove to myself that I am not, in fact, addicted. I've learned that coffee does have great power in my life. I seek to lessen it but somehow it creeps in again. I'm a slow learner. see here. http://rhondafast.wordpress.com/2009/08/22/addictions/

Reply
Lara
1/25/2011 07:36:47 am

Die hard addict here. I weaned myself with my pregnancies as well, but don't plan on doing it again! (unless I really have to!) If I don't get my shot of caffeine by 8:30 I'm a goner for he day. How bad is that? Although I have to say, I never sleep in that way.

Reply
Richelle
1/25/2011 11:48:27 am

You are a woman after my own heart!! It is my guilty pleasure that I simply CAN NOT give up... partly because it gives me such unequivocal joy & comfort and partly because my family & friends might not be able to tolerate me without it ;)

Reply
2/7/2011 01:27:49 am

Hi Girls, I love that you get it. Rhonda, maybe our little experiments demonstrate that we're control freaks!? Like you, though, I like to know that a substance doesn't reign over me. But let's face it, in between times, it most definately does. Let's just be thankful it's not cocaine! :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.